St Joseph's Catholic Primary School


We are part of and were instrumental in forming the Saint John Southworth Catholic Academy Trust (SJSCAT), a multi-academy trust in the Diocese of Westminster.

A Board of Directors governs the Trust and is legally responsible for our school and other schools in the Trust. The Board is the key decision-making body and has three core governance functions: setting the direction of the trust; holding executive leaders to account for educational performance and ensuring money is well spent.

The Board has appointed a Local Governing Body to conduct core governance functions in our school. Local governors, appointed or elected from different parts of our school community, serve on our local governing body. The Chair of the Local Governing Body is Fr Shaun Middleton. To get in touch with the Chair, contact Fr Shaun Middleton, St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School Local Governing Body, Cadogan Street, London, SW3 2QT, or

The local governing body meets twice a term to conduct business. Some aspects of its work are carried out by sub-committees or by link governors who visit our schools to focus on particular areas.

Foundation Governors

Father Shaun Middleton – Chair of Governors
Fr Shaun is the Parish Priest at St Mary’s, Cadogan Street, our parish church. He came to St Mary’s in 2018, having served in a number of other parishes throughout the Diocese.

Born and brought up in South Wales, Fr Shaun has been a priest of the Diocese of Westminster for 30 years. He studied for the Priesthood at the Venerable English College in Rome, and he holds degrees in Theology and Psychology.

Mrs Mary Benton – Vice-Chair (Director of STJSCAT)
Mary worked as a solicitor in the City specialising in capital markets before changing career to become a lay hospice and school chaplain. From 2014 to 2018, she lectured at St Mary’s University in Catholic Education, Religious Education and Primary Education.

Mrs Gabrielle Rafferty (Director of STJSCAT)
Gabrielle is founder and director of an education consultancy. She is a former school manager and deputy headteacher of a London prep school. Gabrielle uses her background and expertise in education to advise families about the most appropriate schools and universities according to the individual needs of their children. She has worked in education for the past twenty years and her experience spans both schools and corporate environments. Gabrielle is a parent to two young boys, both of whom attend St Joseph’s School.

Miss Niamh McGovern
Niamh works as a senior analyst for an international oil and gas consultancy company in the City of London. She has a background in petroleum geoscience and is working towards a PhD in Geology. Previously, she was a tutor for secondary school and university students and has been a parishioner at Westminster Cathedral for over 20 years. Her father was previously a foundation governor at St Joseph’s for many years.

Mrs Anne Lyons

Mrs Ekanem Etim-Offiong

Ekanem has held senior management and leadership positions in both the public and private sectors and is currently working in the NHS as a Social Prescribing Link Worker. 

 Previous private sector roles include International Marketing and Distribution Adviser to Arise News, broadcasting from London, New York, Johannesburg and Lagos.  She also managed a ship repair yard in Lagos, Nigeria, and has run her own business. One of her first jobs was in the banking sector where she worked at for Chase Merchant Bank as a Credit Analyst.  

 Her public sector roles include working as a Policy Adviser at Defra and Project Manager at the Greater Manchester Waste Disposal Authority, where she managed the procurement of the largest waste Management PFI in Europe.   

 Ekanem lives locally, and is a practicing Catholic and an active member in her parish church Our Holy Redeemer and Saint Thomas More where she is a volunteer Catechist. Her interests include promoting African and Afrocentric arts and culture, by moving away from the typical negative depictions of the continent and its people. 

Executive Headteacher

Mrs Karen Wyatt
Karen has taught in London since 2002 and has been appointed in headteacher roles since 2011. In September 2013, she took up a substantive headship at St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School which has been judged to be ‘Outstanding’ in all areas by both Ofsted (November 2013) and the Diocese of Westminster (October 2017). As of September 2017, Karen has taken on the role of Executive Headteacher of both St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School and St Thomas of Canterbury Catholic Primary School in Fulham.

Parent Governors

Mr Francisco Garrido

Francisco moved to London in 2005, being originally from Spain. His professional career has always focused in the finance sector. His personal interests include reading about economics, education, politics, sports and travelling.

Ms Sarah Leslie

Staff Governors

Mrs Anne Evans
Anne has been at St Joseph’s since 2011 and is Assistant Headteacher. She is the Year 6 class teacher and is the subject lead in RE and PSHE. Before becoming a teacher, she was a police officer and she also worked for the local government as a drugs policy officer working on national drugs education programmes for both primary and secondary schools.

Mr James Stacey (Associate)
James has taught at St Joseph’s since 2001. He was appointed as Deputy Headteacher in 2011 and was appointed to his current Head of School role in 2017. During James’s time as a Senior Leader in the school, the school has been judged to be ‘Outstanding’ in all areas by both Ofsted (November 2013) and the Diocese of Westminster (October 2017). James is an Associate Inspector for the Catholic Diocese of Westminster and assists in inspections of primary and secondary schools in the Diocese.

Clerk to the Governors

Mrs Penny Venters


The powers, constitution and proceedings for the local governing body are set out formally in a Scheme of Delegation and Delegation Matrix. The terms upon which the school is funded are set out in a funding agreement with the Secretary of State for Education. The terms of reference for local governing body sub-committees and link governor roles shows which responsibilities have been delegated by the local governing body and the names of those appointed to key positions.

The Governance documents for the Saint John Southworth Catholic Academy Trust can be accessed from its website.

We must ensure that our decisions are free from personal bias and do not unfairly benefit any individual or company connected with the trust. To that end, directors and local governors must register their personal and business interests at the start of the year and declare potential conflicts of interest if they arise.

Minutes of governor meetings are held in the Executive Headteacher’s office and on our school shared hard drives. Paper copies can be provided upon request.

Governor's Attendance 2021-22

St Joseph's Declarations of Interest