School Governing Body

The School Governing Body is responsible for working with the school to ensure that it delivers a good quality education. Together with the Executive Headteacher and Head of School, the Governing Body set the school’s aims and policies.

The role of the Governing Body is to:

  • preserve the Catholic character of the school
  • ensure that the school is conducted in accordance with its trust deed
  • set the strategic direction, vision and ethos of the school;
  • monitor and challenge the progress of the school in achieving its priorities;
  • recruit and performance manage the headteacher;
  • exercise employer responsibility;
  • ensure the school meets its statutory responsibilities;
  • ensure financial probity;
  • ensure the premises are well managed; and
  • report to the school’s stakeholders.

At St Joseph’s, the current governors are proud to give their time, expertise, commitment and passion to support the school in ensuring that each pupil receives an outstanding education during their time here.

If you wish to contact the Governing Body, please contact the Chair of Governors by emailing or by calling the School Office on 0207 589 2438 and we will respond to you as soon as possible.

Current Governors

Foundation Governors

Mrs Mary Benton – Chair of Governors

Responsibilities: Curriculum and Standards Committee, Admissions Committee, Partnership Steering Committee, RE Link Governor, Health and Safety Link Governor

Mary worked as a solicitor in the City specialising in capital markets before changing career to become a lay hospice and school chaplain. From 2014 to 2018, she lectured at St Mary’s University in Catholic Education, Religious Education and Primary Education.

Declarations of Interest: None recorded

Ms Maggie Loo – Vice Chair of Governors

Responsibilities: Resources Committee, Safeguarding Link Governor, Partnership Steering Committee

Maggie has been a parishioner of St Mary’s Cadogan Street for over a decade, where both of her daughters were baptised. She is a partner leading client and strategy development at a sustainable and impact investment firm called Bridges Fund Management Ltd.

Declarations of Interest: None recorded

Father Shaun Middleton

Responsibilities: Resources Committee, Chair of Pay Committee

Fr Shaun is the Parish Priest at St Mary’s, Cadogan Street, our parish church. He came to St Mary’s in 2018, having served in a number of other parishes throughout the Diocese.

Born and brought up in South Wales, Fr Shaun has been a priest of the Diocese of Westminster for 30 years. He studied for the Priesthood at the Venerable English College in Rome, and he holds degrees in Theology and Psychology.

Declarations of Interest: None recorded

Mrs Gabrielle Rafferty

Responsibilities: Curriculum & Standards Committee,  Literacy Link Governor

Gabrielle is founder and director of an education consultancy. She is a former school manager and deputy headteacher of a London prep school. Gabrielle uses her background and expertise in education to advise families about the most appropriate schools and universities according to the individual needs of their children. She has worked in education for the past twenty years and her experience spans both schools and corporate environments. Gabrielle is a parent to two young boys, both of whom attend St Joseph’s School.

Declarations of Interest: None recorded

Miss Niamh McGovern

Responsibilities: Resources Committee

Niamh works as a senior analyst for an international oil and gas consultancy company in the City of London.  She has a background in petroleum geoscience and is working towards a PhD in Geology. Previously she was a tutor for secondary school and university students and has been a parishioner at Westminster Cathedral for over 20 years. Her father was previously a foundation governor at St Joseph’s for many years. She joined the Governing Body at St Joseph’s in 2019.

Declarations of Interest: None recorded

Executive Headteacher

Mrs Karen Wyatt

Responsibilities: Curriculum and Standards Committee, Admissions Committee, Resources Committee, Partnership Steering Committee, Pay Committee

Karen has taught in London since 2002 and has been appointed in headteacher roles since 2011. In September 2013, she took up a substantive headship at St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School which has been judged to be ‘Outstanding’ in all areas by both Ofsted (November 2013) and the Diocese of Westminster (October 2017). As of September 2017, Karen has taken on the role of Executive Headteacher of both St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School and St Thomas of Canterbury Catholic Primary School in Fulham.

Declarations of Interest: None recorded

Local Authority Governor

Mrs Maighread Condon-Simmonds

Responsibilities: Chair of Curriculum and Standards Committee, Chair of Admissions Committee

Maighread was brought up in Ireland. She trained as a general and psychiatric nurse in Devon and London. On completion of her training, she worked in Turkey and Israel for a year and in New York for 5 years. Maighread has lived in Chelsea for 42 years and was a local councillor for 16 years.

Declarations of Interest: None recorded

Parent Governors

Mr Kevin McMullen

Responsibilities: Vice-Chair of Curriculum and Standards Committee, Maths Link Governor

Kevin, a former chartered surveyor, is a property developer and investor amongst other business interests. Kevin previously worked in various capacities across Agency, Asset Management and Property Investment and Development. Kevin was once a keen film maker writing and directing his own films and once worked with Stephen Fry. Kevin has two daughters at St Joseph’s.

Declarations of Interest: None recorded

Staff Governors

Mrs Anne Evans

Responsibilities: Curriculum and Standards Committee

Anne has been at St Joseph’s since 2011 and is Assistant Headteacher. She is the Year 6 class teacher and is the subject lead in RE and PSHE. Before becoming a teacher, she was a police officer and she also worked for the local government as a drugs policy officer working on national drugs education programmes for both primary and secondary schools.

Declarations of Interest: None recorded

Mr James Stacey (Associate)

Responsibilities: Curriculum and Standards Committee, Resources Committee

James has taught at St Joseph’s since 2001. He was appointed as Deputy Headteacher in 2011 and was appointed to his current Head of School role in 2017. During James’s time as a Senior Leader in the school, the school has been judged to be ‘Outstanding’ in all areas by both Ofsted (November 2013) and the Diocese of Westminster (October 2017). James is an Associate Inspector for the Catholic Diocese of Westminster and assists in inspections of primary and secondary schools in the Diocese.

Declarations of Interest: None recorded

Clerk to the Governors

Mrs Penny Venters

Governors’ Attendance at Meetings

Academic Year 2018-19

Academic Year 2019-20

Academic Year 2020-21

Governors’ Terms of Office

Governors’ Terms of Office

Instrument of Government

Instrument of Government