School Governing Body

The role of the school governor is demanding but very rewarding and is a good way to give back to your local community.  School governing bodies are responsible for working with the school to ensure that it delivers a good quality education. Together with the Executive Headteacher and Head of School, they set the school’s aims and policies.

The role of the governing body is to:

  • set the strategic direction, vision and ethos of the school;
  • monitor and challenge the progress of the school in achieving its priorities;
  • recruit and performance manage the head teacher;
  • exercise employer responsibility;
  • ensure the school meets its statutory responsibilities;
  • ensure financial probity;
  • ensure the premises are well managed; and
  • report to the school’s stakeholders.

At St Joseph’s School, the current governors are proud to give their time, expertise, commitment and passion to support the school in ensuring that each pupil receives an outstanding education during their time at the school.

Current Governors

Mrs Mary Benton – CHAIR
Ms Maggie Loo – VICE CHAIR
Mr Alexander Weatherall
Mr Daniel Pokoo
Lady Patricia Watson
Father Shaun Middleton

Local Authority
Cllr Mrs Maighread Condon-Simmonds

Mrs Gabrielle Rafferty
Mr Kevin McMullen

Mrs Anne Evans
Mr James Stacey (Associate)

Terms Of Office


Governors’ Register of Pecuniary Interests

Mrs Penny Venters

Governors’ Attendance at Meetings

Academic Year 2017-18